Scholarship Awards

2023 Scholarship Awards Announced

The SPE Fort Worth Section is pleased to announce the 2023 Scholarship Award Recipients. 

Mason Matthews

Mason Matthews Mason Matthews is a senior from Carroll High School in Carroll, TX where he is graduating with a 3.93 GPA.  He is a member of the National Honor Society, the National Technical Honor Society, and was a member the 2022 UIL 2nd Team Academic All-State. Mason enjoys sports and he is active in football as well as soccer. In his spare time, Mason likes to travel, cook, and play music (piano and percussion).

Mason will be attending the University of Texas Cockrell School of Engineering where he will pursue his degree in Petroleum and Geosystems Engineering with a focus on research in seismic information, determining optimal development plans in unconventional reservoirs, and the optimal sequencing of exploration wells. He is also very excited for the potential of international travel opportunities with his chosen program.

Sam Norwood

Sam Norwood

Sam Norwood will be starting his junior year at Texas A&M University this fall where he is majoring in Petroleum Engineering. He is originally from the Ponder, TX area. Sam is a member of the student chapter of the TAMU SPE and is active in local campus events, where he serves as the director for the Technical Development, Conferences, and Merchandising committee. He is also the president of the TAMU PETE Chess club. 

When not at school, Sam loves volunteering at his church, strength training, and he and his wife spend a lot of time in the garden as well as canning and preserving.

Eli Peacock

Eli Peacock

Eli Peacock is a Senior at Haskell HS in Haskell, Texas where he is graduating with a 3.96 GPA. Eli is a member of the National Honor Society (where he served as Treasurer) as well as leader in the local FFA. Active in sports, Eli played football (team captain), baseball, and basketball. He is also active in the community where he has volunteered with local food banks as well as a local child welfare organization.

After graduation, Eli will be attending Tarleton State University where he will be pursuing a degree in Petroleum Engineering. He will be the third generation in his family of oil and gas industry professionals. With a passion for conservation, Eli’s plans include working on innovative methods of oil production that maintain and conserve the integrity of the land.

Previous Award Recipients


  • Ashton Morrow (Burleson, TX). Ashton is an Engineering major at Tarleton State (Class of '26)
  • Blake Sutherland (Bridgeport, TX). Blake attends Texas A&M University. He will be graduating with an Engineering degree in the Fall of 2025.
  • Mason Hodge (Keller, TX). Blake is a Petroleum Engineering major at LSU (Class of '24)


  • Pierce Miller (Fort Worth, TX). Pierce majored in Petroleum Engineering at Texas A&M University and graduated Fall ’23 with a Minor in Mathematics.
  • Sarah Querishi (Lubbock, TX). Sarah is Petroleum Engineering major at Texas Tech University class of ‘24.


  • Isabella Diaz (Fort Worth, TX). Isabella is a student at Texas A&M University class of '24 majoring in Petroleum Engineering
  • Ashlynn Tutter (Brock, TX). Ashlynn is a student at Texas A&M University class of '24 majoring in Ocean Engineering